Medicare Parts A B C D

The Four Parts of Medicare

The different parts of Medicare help cover specific services:

  1. Medicare Part A (Hospital Insurance)
    • Helps cover inpatient care in hospitals, skilled nursing facilities, hospice, and home health care.
    • Most people don’t have to pay a premium for Medicare Part A because they or a spouse paid Medicare taxes while working in the United States. If you don’t automatically get premium-free Part A, you may still be able to enroll, and pay a premium.
  2. Medicare Part B (Medical Insurance)
    • Helps cover doctors’ and other health care providers’ services, outpatient care, durable medical equipment, and home health care.
    • Helps cover some preventive services.
    • Most people pay up to the standard monthly Medicare Part B premium.
  3. Medicare Part C (also known as Medicare Advantage)
    • Offers health plan options run by Medicare-approved private insurance companies. Medicare Advantage Plans are a way to get the benefits and services covered under Part A and Part B. Most Medicare Advantage Plans cover Medicare prescription drug coverage (Part D).
    • Some Medicare Advantage Plans may include extra benefits for an extra cost.
  4. Medicare Part D (Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage)
    • Helps cover the cost of prescription drugs.
    • May help lower your prescription drug costs and help protect against higher costs.
    • Run by Medicare-approved private insurance companies.
    • Costs and benefits vary by plan.

Source: CMS publication #10050, Medicare & You , available online at: